Since there are no currently active contests, we have switched Climate CoLab to read-only mode.
Learn more at https://climatecolab.org/page/readonly.
Skip navigation

Community Discussions

The year 4000

1comment
Share conversation: Share via:

Nicholas Heltzel

Apr 11, 2017
10:03

1 |
Share via:

Hello. I'm an independent student at M.I.T. Opencourseware, and II would like to discuss the future, and some simple perspectives. I think that our #1 problem that we face with climate change and atmospheric carbon levels, is the continued use and reliance, upon fossil fuels. I think the primary use of fossil fuels is applied in our transportation sectors, both commercial, and personal transportation. I've thought of a lot of ideas, and tried to get the ball rolling, by writing tesla about electric semi trucks, and powering them with solar stations, etc. I think if the bottle of water you purchase at the store, was transported using clean energy, it has a larger effect on reducing atmospheric carbon levels, than a $70,000 electric passenger vehicle, that most people cannot afford. I started to think, and looked into the future, and not just the future 50-100 years from now, but thousands of years from now. You know what I realized? That there's no way we could accommodate highways and roads with that many needed lanes. That rush hour traffic, in places such as New York, would have week or month long traffic jams. Not to mention we wouldn't even see a future that far ahead if we all continue in the same direction with transportation. I propose, a global mass transit system, the likes of which, has never been seen. A high-speed solar electric maglev system, with solar electric shuttles that are within walking distance of a few blocks, anywhere in the world. I propose that this transit system, not only transport people, but commercial shipments, as a solution to commercial transport as well. I believe transportation should be free on this system, for everyone in the world, i